top of page

Response to #FreeKesha Movement


As I'm sure you know, pop-sensation Kesha went head-to-head in court with producer Dr. Luke this past Friday. The outcome was less than desirable for the singer.

The court date was scheduled after the singer claimed to have been sexually and emotionally abused by Dr. Luke back in 2006, when she first signed her record deal. Luke, whose company is under Sony's music umbrella, denies all claims of sexual and emotional assault.

Kesha's ultimate wish is to be released from her contract which, as of now, obligates her to make six more records with Dr. Luke. If the contract were to be terminated, it would all for the Grammy-nominated singer to do what she loves: write and perform new music.

Unfortunately, as of Friday's ruling, the singer's request has been denied.

She now has two options: continue making music with Dr. Luke or never make music again.

I am writing this blog, not to summarize what CNN, Huffington Post or any other news outlets have already stated. I am writing this blog to encourage a dialogue; one that generates conversation and ignites a movement towards women's equality.

Now, I know what you're thinking: another self-proclaimed feminist, writing about "feminist things," telling us to all be feminists with him. You would be wrong. Yes, I am a feminist and believe that all women should be granted the same rights as...let's say...older, white men. I don't want to preach at you.

I am here to question what has become so accepted in our society. How is it that Chris Brown can admittedly beat a woman, assault two gay men, and throw a chair out a window during a national broadcast and still garner success? In fact, Brown's career is arguably more successful now than in years past.

I am genuinely confused as to how, in 2016, we can claim to be in favor of women's equality, but stand idly by as a talented woman is forced to do what she loves with the man she hates most in the world.

This article is not about whether Dr. Luke committed these heinous crimes. It is not about whether or not you question the legitimacy of Kesha's claims. This is about how we, as a nation, actively and aggressively fight for appropriate treatment of men, and passively allow women to be treated as parentheticals or inferiors.

Social media platforms are now covered with a hashtag (#FreeKesha) to allow members of various platforms to express their love and admiration for the pop singer. This is one step in the right direction.

I would like to think that everyone is one Kesha's side, but I cannot speak to that. What I can speak to is the attention surrounding this case. If we continue to shed light on these social media posts and opinion pieces, we might have our voices heard and Kesha might be "freed"

Chew on this. Mull it over. Get back to me. Let's discuss.

G'day.

-K

P.S. I am not a fan of Kesha's music. I am not in any way defending her because of my love of "Tik Tok." I am just a guy who think women should be treated as equally as men are in American society. It's pretty simple.


bottom of page